The next HSS PTSA monthly meeting is scheduled for 
Thursday, June 8th 
at 6:30 p.m., in the MEDIA CENTER. 


The HSS PTSA membership form for the 2016-17 school year can be found here: HSS PTSA 2016-17 Membership Form.

Follow us on Facebook (hssptsa) and Twitter (@hssptsa)!

HSS PTSA Monthly Meetings
2016 - 2017

Thursday, June 8th
All meetings are held at 6:30pm in the Media Center (library). Please check our website for any changes in meeting time or place.


The Hayfield Secondary School (HSS) Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA) is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization committed to supporting and providing those resources that help all Hayfield Secondary parents, teachers, staff and students meet the school's stated mission -- which is to provide a strong academic environment to meet the educational needs of a diverse school population where academic success is paramount, as well as to maintain and enhance a learning atmosphere of respect for self and others. The HSS PTSA's affiliation with state and national PTA organizations, as well as its authority, purpose and other organizational policies and procedures are defined in its bylaws.

What's My Membership Pay For?

The PTSA supports a wide variety of programs at the school that benefit your students, faculty and staff. The PTSA also publishes a Student Directory that is available with your membership dues. Some other programs include:

  • Teacher/Staff "mini-grants"
  • PTSA student scholarships
  • High school academic letters & pins
  • Middle school academic awards
  • In-school programs & presentations like:
    • Theater IV program
    • Face to Face program
    • NOVAM presentation
  • HSS Science Fair
  • Teacher/Staff appreciation week 
     and hospitality expenses
  • One-time or occasional donations 
     to other HSS initiatives or HSS organizations
  • PTSA website expenses
Please complete our PTSA Membership Form, and follow the instructions on it for submitting your membership fee. It's an investment that you'll be glad you made.

HSSPTSA Executive Board 

The following slate of PTSA board members was elected to serve for the 2016-2017 school year. As you can see, we have several more vacancies for the coming school year -- particularly critical ones for Hospitality, Fundraising Chair, and also a volunteer coordinator. If you have experience or are interested in helping out with one of these positions or related PTSA committees, please contact the PTSA president, Purvis Dawson, for additional details.

President Purvis Dawson
1st Vice President (HS) Gwendolyn King
2nd Vice President (MS) Heidi Frego
Treasurer Robin Jones
Corresponding Secretary VACANT
Recording Secretary Bob Williams
Membership Chair Miyong Park
Directory Shay Millner
2017 ANGP Co-Chairs
(All Night Grad Party!)
Dana Bennsky
Denise Holyoak
Hospitality Chair VACANT
Acadmic Boosters/Mini-Grants,  Scholarships Chair Amy Zirkle
Band Boosters Liaison Theresa Larsen
Choral Boosters Liaison
Drama Boosters Liaison Monica Stockton
Orchestra Boosters Liaison Marie Stravlo
Combined Federal Campaign (CFC) Chair Paul Otto
eScrip/Boxtops for Education Chair Flora Kiszka
Fundraising Chair VACANT
Volunteer Coordinator VACANT
Reflections Chair Amy Phillips
Web Site/Communications Daria Bergen-Hill
HSS Teacher/Staff Liaison
SGA Rep Janet Babic
HSS Principal Martin Grimm
Immediate Past President Dana Bennsky

HSS PTSA and FCPS Calendars

Fair Use Notice

This web site may at times present copyrighted material, the use of which might not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. Such material is made available in an effort to advance understandings of educational, democratic, economic, environmental, human rights, political, scientific, and social justice issues, among others. The Editor believes that this constitutes a “fair use” of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the U. S. Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the articles published on this website are distributed without profit for research and educational purposes.